21 Days of Oscar – My Predictions

It is officially a week until the Oscars so I will tell you my predictions for who will win in the major categories. These are who I think will, not necessarily who I think should win. I’ll tell you my picks for who I think should have been nominated on Saturday and who I think should win a week from today but here are my predictions:

Best Supporting Actress – Mo’Nique

There is no way Mo’Nique won’t win. She has won every preliminary award and is incredible in Precious.

Best Supporting Actor – Christoph Waltz

He too has won every preliminary award and is simply outstanding in Inglourious Basterds.

Best Actress – Meryl Streep

I know most people think Sandra Bullock will win but I think the Academy is ready to give Meryl another Oscar. She definitely has many fans within the Academy and I believe they will come to their senses and realize that Meryl’s performance was simply better than Sandra’s. Last year Sean Penn won over frontrunner Mickey Rourke and I think a similar thing will happen with Meryl at this year’s ceremony.

Best Actor – Jeff Bridges

Everyone loves him and he has been nominated and has lost far too many times.

Best Director – Kathryn Bigelow

The Academy will finally want to recognize a woman, especially for a film it already loves.

Best Picture – The Hurt Locker

Despite this week’s scandal in which a producer sent out an e-mail to Academy voters urging them to vote for The Hurt Locker I think this film will prevail. Avatar is incredible but I think many Academy members will want to award a film that is more serious or profound. On the other hand the Academy may view Avatar as a film like The Wizard of Oz and may not want future generations bemoaning the fact that they did not award the ultimate prize to this groundbreaking movie.

What are your predictions?

2 Comments

Filed under 21 Days of Oscar

2 responses to “21 Days of Oscar – My Predictions

  1. Alexa

    Avatar is going to get Best Picture. I don’t want it to, but it will.

  2. UP! best picture lol
    and Coraline best animated film 🙂

Leave a Reply

