21 Days of Oscar – Screenplays and Quotes

Matt Damon and Ben Affleck winning the award for Best Original Screenplay for Good Will Hunting in 1998.

It would be very difficult to make a good movie without a great script. Federico Fellini managed to make the fantasitc 8 1/2 without hardly any script at all but he of course is the exception. Most filmmakers need to work with strong scripts. Think about how much better the latest Star Wars movies would have been if George Lucas had spent a little more time on the script or consider what Pulp Fiction would have been without its fantastic and iconic dialogue. The best movies get quoted over and over again. Here are this year’s nominees for Best Original Screenplay and Best Adapted Screenplay.

Best Original Screenplay

The Hurt Locker, Mark Boal

Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino

The Messenger, Alessandro Camon and Oren Moverman

A Serious Man, Joel Coen and Ethan Coen

Up, Bob Peterson, Pete Doctor, Tom McCarthy

Best Adapted Screenplay

District 9, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell

An Education, Nick Hornby

In The Loop, Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche

Precious, Geoffrey Fletcher

Up In The Air, Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner

Here are some of my favorite quotes from this year’s Academy Award nominated films. In order they come from: Inglourious Basterds, An Education, The Hurt Locker, Precious, Up in the Air, A Single Man, Julie & Julie, Avatar.

Lt. Aldo Raine: You know somethin’, Utivich? I think this might just be my masterpiece.

Col. Hans Landa: I didn’t think so. You don’t like them. You don’t really know why you don’t like them. All you know is you find them repulsive. Consequently, a German soldier conducts a search of a house suspected of hiding Jews. Where does the hawk look? He looks in the barn, he looks in the attic, he looks in the cellar, he looks everywhere *he* would hide, but there’s so many places it would never occur to a hawk to hide. However, the reason the Führer’s brought me off my Alps in Austria and placed me in French cow country today is because it does occur to me. Because I’m aware what tremendous feats human beings are capable of once they abandon dignity.

Jenny: I don’t want to lose my virginity to a piece of fruit

Miss Stubbs: You seem to be old and wise.
Jenny: I feel old. But not very wise.

Staff Sergeant William James: There’s enough bang in there to blow us all to Jesus. If I’m gonna die, I want to die comfortable.

Clareece ‘Precious’ Jones: [Taking an assessment test] There’s always something wrong with these tests. These tests paint a picture of me with no brain. These tests paint a picture of me and my mother, my whole family as less than dumb. Just ugly black grease, need to be wiped away, find a job for.

Mrs. Weiss: Let’s talk about the abuse in your household. You know what I’m talking about.
Mary: [Tearfully] You sit there and you judge me, and you write them notes on your notepad, because you think you know who I am!

Natalie Keener: He broke up with me by text message.
Ryan Bingham: Wow. That’s kind of like getting fired over the Internet.

Ryan Bingham: If you think about it, your favorite memories, the most important moments in your life… were you alone? Life’s better with company.

George: [last lines; voiceover] A few times in my life I’ve had moments of absolute clarity, when for a few brief seconds the silence drowns out the noise and I can feel rather than think, and things seem so sharp and the world seems so fresh. I can never make these moments last. I cling to them, but like everything, they fade. I have lived my life on these moments. They pull me back to the present, and I realize that everything is exactly the way it was meant to be.

Julie Powell: “Is there anything better than butter? Think it over, any time you taste something that’s delicious beyond imagining and you say ‘what’s in this?’ the answer is always going to be butter. The day there is a meteorite rushing toward Earth and we have thirty days to live, I am going to spend it eating butter. Here is my final word on the subject, you can never have too much butter.”

Dr. Grace Augustine: Who’s got my goddamned cigarette? Come on guys! What’s wrong with this picture?

Jake Sully: I was a warrior who dreamed he could bring peace. Sooner or later though, you always have to wake up.

What are some of your favorite film quotes of the year? Who do you think should win screenplay awards this year?

2 Comments

Filed under 21 Days of Oscar

2 responses to “21 Days of Oscar – Screenplays and Quotes

  1. Jen

    if Avatar wins for best screenplay I will LAUGH

  2. haha it wasn’t nominated so you don’t have to worry!

Leave a Reply

