21 Days of Oscar – My Nominations

Tomorrow night is the Academy Awards so I’ve decided to celebrate the night by revealing the films I would have nominated in some of the top categories if I were an Academy member. I have only nominated films I have seen, so I have not nominated Helen Mirren for Best Actress for example, because I have not seen The Last Station not because I think she gave a bad performance. Tomorrow I will reveal my top choices in each category. I wish you all a lovely Oscar Eve!

Best Original Screenplay

The Hurt Locker

Inglourious Basterds

(500) Days of Summer

A Serious Man

The Brothers Bloom

Best Adapted Screenplay

An Education

A Single Man

Up In The Air

Precious

Where the Wild Things Are

Art Direction

Avatar

Inglourious Basterds

Nine

Where the Wild Things Are

A Single Man

Cinematography

Inglourious Basterds

The Hurt Locker

Avatar

A Single Man

Where the Wild Things Are

Score

Avatar

District 9

Where the Wild Things Are

A Single Man

Up

Supporting Actor

Alfred Molina, An Education

Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

Matt Damon, Invictus

Zach Galifianakis, The Hangover

Brad Pitt, Inglourious Basterds

Supporting Actress

Maggie Gyllenhaal, Crazy Heart

Anna Kendrick, Up in the Air

Mo’Nique, Precious

Julianne Moore, A Single Man

Vera Farmiga, Up in the Air

Actor

Morgan Freeman, Invictus

Michael Stuhlbarg, A Serious Man

George Clooney, Up in the Air

Colin Firth, A Single Man

Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart

Actress

Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia

Rachel Weisz, The Brothers Bloom

Carey Mulligan, An Education

Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side

Gabourey Sidibe, Precious

Director

Quentin Tarantino, Inglorious Basterds

Jason Reitman, Up in the Air

Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

Lee Daniels, Precious

James Cameron, Avatar

Picture

An Education

Avatar

District 9

The Hurt Locker

Inglourious Basterds

Precious

A Single Man

Up In the Air

Where the Wild Things Are

(500) Days of Summer

Check back here tomorrow when I will reveal the winners! What would you have nominated if you were an Academy member? Discuss!


Leave a comment

Filed under 21 Days of Oscar

Leave a Reply

