21 Days of Oscar – My Picks!

Here are my picks for some of this year’s major Oscar categories. These are not who I think will win but who I think should win.

Best Original Screenplay

Inglourious Basterds

Best Adapted Screenplay

Up In The Air

Best Art Direction

Avatar

Best Cinematography

Avatar

Best Score

Avatar

Best Supporting Actor

Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

Best Supporting Actress

Mo’Nique, Precious

Best Actor

Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart

Best Actress

Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia

Best Director

Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

Best Picture (in ranking order)

10. Where the Wild Things Are

9. District 9

8. Precious

7. A Single Man

6. An Education

5. (500) Days of Summer

4. The Hurt Locker

3. Up in the Air

2. Avatar

1. Inglourious Basterds

It has been very hard for me to choose my best picture of the year. It seems like every week it changes. I loved Up in the Air and it hit me emotionally but it almost felt too “ordinary” which is a quality that I don’t really associate with my favorite films of each year. I also loved Avatar, I know it’s incredibly easy to make fun of the film but it’s also a movie experience like no other and I felt more exhilarated after seeing it than perhaps any other film I’ve seen in a theatre. I even found a couple of its scenes moving but unfortunately the writing was just too poor and its acting while totally adequate was not exactly ground breaking. Which brings me to Inglourious Basterds. Quentin Tarantino’s latest film was highly engrossing, superbly written, ferociously well-acted and showed us a new side of Tarantino. Though Inglourious Basterds did not move me emotionally, except for  a couple of scenes, every aspect of the film was brilliantly executed.

Tonight it looks like either Avatar or The Hurt Locker will win Best Picture and even though I liked Avatar more than The Hurt Locker I will be happy with whichever film wins. I hope you all have a wonderful Oscar night tonight and it’s been a great pleasure writing to you all in the last 21 days! Check back in a couple days when I will post my thoughts on the show. Thanks for reading!

Here’s a nice look back at the year in film:


2 Comments

Filed under 21 Days of Oscar

2 responses to “21 Days of Oscar – My Picks!

  1. Kelly

    I agree with most your choices. I’d be shocked if Avatar didn’t win best art direction. And Inglorious Bastards was so good! The only other films I saw that are listed though are (500) Day of Summer, which though I thought was creative, I didn’t like it. And Up In The Air, which was great.

  2. Nora V

    I LOVE that song on the video. Favorite Arcade Fire song.

    Anyway, “Inglourious Basterds!” You weren’t kidding, I am surprised. Still, I definitely think that’s a really strong choice. I always liked Tarantino, but I really loved that movie. Other than that, I think you’re pretty aligned with the picks most critics have been predicting. I so loved Carey Mulligan in “An Education.” Even though Meryl Streep prolly gave a better performance, I would love to see her win.

    I’m not feeling Avatar for “Best Score.” I thought it was good, but I didn’t leave the theater thinking “Wow, what a great score.” The two movies for which I DID do that were “Up” and “Sherlock Holmes.” My money’s on “Up.”

    You didn’t indicate a favorite animated film! Are you on the “Up” bandwagon for that category? (Can I just say again how peeesed I was that “Princess & the Frog” got a nod, but not “Ponyo.” WTF, mate?)

Leave a Reply

