The Cinematographic Art of the Music Video

Hello, everyone!

Yes, I am alive. I’ve just been taking a break after 21 Days of Oscar and have been busy with midterms/ general procrastination. Thanks again to everyone who made 21 Days of Oscar such a blog-tacular event. Lately I’ve been hearing a lot about Lady Gaga’s new 9 minute music video for “Telephone.” It’s really more of a short film involving lesbians, prison, poison, sandwich making and the infamous P*ssy Wagon from Tarantino’s Kill Bill films. It’s hilarious, fun and really quite stupid. If you haven’t seen it yet, you can watch it here:

I thought it would be appropriate to dedicate a post to the art of the music video. I know you must be thinking, “but this is a movie blog not a music blog!” However I would argue that some music videos are just short films with constant background music. I should also mention that some film directors started as music video directors (Michael Gondry, Spike Jonze) and some film directors continue to direct videos as well. So I have made a list of some of my favorite music videos, I have not included Thriller by Michael Jackson cause everyone has already seen it a million time. These are just videos I think are visually interesting, I’m not necessarily a fan of every artist or every song for that matter.

Aerosmith – Pink (directed by Doug Nichol)

Blind Melon – No Rain

Bjork – All is Full of Love (directed by Chris Cunningham)

Beastie Boys – Intergalactic

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Give it Away

Kanye West – Love Lockdown

The Killers – Read My Mind

Madonna – Nothing Really Matters

No Doubt – New

Fatboy Slim – Weapon of Choice

Nine Inch Nails – Closer

Bjork – Joga

Weezer – Buddy Holly

Lady Gaga – Bad Romance

I’ve left out hundreds, if not thousands of fantastic videos, what are some of your favorites?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Cinematographic Art of the Music Video

  1. Alexa

    Dude you need to update this. I can’t keep visiting your blog only to see that terrifying picture of Lady Gaga. I’m convinced she’s not human.

Leave a Reply

