Best High School Movies

Most high school seniors have either already graduated this year or will do so in the next couple of weeks. The last few months before graduating from high school I tried to watch as many high school-centered films as possible because I would never have the opportunity to watch a high school movie as a high school student ever again. Of course, you can still appreciate high school movies years after graduating so here are some movies that will surely bring you back to the good old days when all you wanted to do was fit in, party with your friends and not get caught doing something you wouldn’t want your parents to see you doing. Instead of commenting on each of the films, I have instead included a quote from each of the films, in addition to a scene or trailer from each. Enjoy!

Rebel Without A Cause (1955)

If I had one day when I didn’t have to be all confused and I didn’t have to feel that I was ashamed of everything. If I felt that I belonged someplace. You know? – Jim Stark

American Graffiti (1973)

Oh, no, not me. Not old Carol. The night is young and I’m not hittin’ the rack till I get a little action. – Carol

Fast Times at Ridgemont High (1982)

What Jefferson was saying was, Hey! You know, we left this England place ’cause it was bogus; so if we don’t get some cool rules ourselves – pronto – we’ll just be bogus too! Get it? – Jeff Spicoli

The Breakfast Club (1985)

You see us as you want to see us – in the simplest terms, in the most convenient definitions. You see us as a brain, an athlete, a basket case, a princess and a criminal. Correct? That’s the way we saw each other at 7:00 this morning. We were brainwashed. – Brian Johnson

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

If anyone needs a day off, it’s Cameron. He has a lot of things to sort out before he graduates. Can’t be wound up this tight and go to college, his roommate will kill him. – Ferris

Dazed and Confused (1993)

The older you get, the more rules they are going to try and get you to follow. You just gotta keep on livin’, man. L-I-V-I-N. – Wooderson

Clueless (1995)

Searching for a boy in high school is as useless as searching for meaning in a Pauly Shore movie. – Cher

Election (1999)

Vote for me, because I don’t even want to go to college, and I don’t care, and as president I won’t do anything. The only promise I will make is that if elected I will immediately dismantle the student government, so that none of us will ever have to sit through one of these stupid assemblies again! – Tammy Metzler

Mean Girls (2004)

It’s like I have ESPN or something. My breasts can always tell when it’s going to rain. – Karen

Superbad (2007)

I just wanna go to the rooftops and scream, “I love my best friend, Evan.” – Seth

American Teen (2008)


Leave a comment

Filed under Lists

Leave a Reply

